Can't Put Out This Fire

Burning It Down: Mix Tape On Fire

Today’s Daily Prompt came with bells ringing. It goes like this…

Put together a musical playlist of songs that describe your life, including what you hope your future entails.

Can't Put Out This Fire
Can’t Put Out This Fire

I haven’t been in such a great writing mood. But for music, I answer the sirens call like a helpless sailor in the middle of stormy seas. Since this time of year is perfect for reflection; I’ve enjoyed making this playlist for nostalgic musings. 

I’ve been an intense soul from way back. My parents supplied an ample amount of material for me to work from. So even though Dad said I couldn’t possibly understand the depths of the meaning behind some of my soul songs growing up; deep down inside I knew what I didn’t know I knew…

I knew that love was the answer for many problems:

Despite that truth, I knew that there would be a lot of unrequited everything: 

Although the idea was seductive, money wasn’t enough to make the pain go away: 

It would have been good for my Dad to see how important he was to me before he was on his deathbed:

These days, I’m trying to “think higher and feel deeper”, as the great Elie Wiesel says. I’m not who I used to be. Not quite who I want to be. But I’m moving forward even if my steps are shaky. 

It’s not easy always being the one who can see beyond the challenges of a situation:

Sometimes, I just want someone to get this:

Still holding out for the last one. Sometimes I wonder why:

Looking at the next chapter, I open my arms to the possibilities. The losses can eat my dust: 

Anyone in need of a DJ or someone to score their next film project? LOL

3 thoughts on “Burning It Down: Mix Tape On Fire”

Watcha Say Now?

