Give Me Time To Wake Up

I almost can’t believe this is my first Daily Post challenge of the year! But it’s about music so ya know, how could I not post something?

“Letting Go,” by Callum Burrows/Saint Raymond is on my list of new music from British artists I’d recently discovered.

I      :::     L       O       V       E       :::     T       H       I       S        :::     S       O       N       G

I woke up to this song, took a shower to it, washed dishes with it. It crept in my head while I was writing a post about a different song. I think it’s safe to say it’s got a hold on me. You’d be right to assume I’m blasting it as I write this.

“It puts the flesh back to your bones.”

I’ve got my thoughts in order lately. I’m approaching one of those milestone birthdays. You know the birthday when some women start backdating themselves because they don’t want to think about the ramifications that come with turning the big four ohh. I’m already out of the prime marketing demographic. I don’t feel the need to wear my hair a certain way so that other people are comfortable. Although I do feel a slight urge to procreate, I’m not bummed about not having children. Not having the man is another thing all together. Ha!

But the reason I love love this song so much is that it perfectly suits my emerging mindset. I’m letting go of things that just don’t suit me anymore. Don’t get confused, it’s not all gravy. I have some extremely low moments. And I fight my way through them because I’m not willing to give up. I feel like I want to but then I’d have to start all over again. That ain’t happening. I’m thankful for the good and the all-encompassing suck of existence. I know the only way to fully embrace life is to acknowledge every aspect of it. I simply don’t want to waste my days on regrets and hesitation.

I’ve said this before; the only way I’m gonna get where I’m going is by dropping some of this baggage I’ve held. And all this luggage is empty with experiences that cannot be redone and words left unsaid. What good is any of that right here and now? I want to wake up excited for the opportunity to reach out to someone who wants to hold my hand. Every time I share my life or creativity, another bag drops. I have a lot to give and I don’t know how long I have to give it. I have to make these days count. Otherwise what’s the point?

::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::

You should answer the siren’s call and take part in this week’s challenge:

Pick a song that inspires you, provokes a memory, or that you just love to play till your neighbors bang on the walls.

25 thoughts on “Give Me Time To Wake Up

  1. “I’m thankful for the good and the all-encompassing suck of existence.” – Love this. It needs to be on a t-shirt! 😀

    For what it’s worth, I have faith in you! 🙂

  2. Ooooh you should do this more often, that is, if you haven’t already started a series that’s based around the inspiration that comes to you while listening to a particular song. I thought about that, but it kind of happens automatically. I have far too many projects going on to try and add on another series :\

Watcha Say Now?

