When I Was Just A Little Girl

I asked my mother what will I be. –  “Que Sera Sera”, Sly and The Family Stone

I honestly don’t remember if I asked my Mom that. But I did ask her a battery of questions on such a regular basis that she resorted to telling me to “look it up”. I hated it. I thought she was being lazy and didn’t want to explain things to me. She got me so many reference books. My favorite where the ones by Jacques Cousteau. After years of researching whatever topic peaked my interest, my investigation skills are pretty good. I like to call myself Columbo because every unknown is like a piece of a puzzle I simply must solve. I have my Mom to thank for feeding my voracious appetite for knowledge.

My mom woke me up most mornings by singing “Good Morning To You”. It drove me crazy! In hindsight it was probably on weekends when she did that. Nonetheless it could be one of the reasons I wake up with a song in my head. My father had something to do with that as well. But this post is about my Mom, so I’ll revisit Dad’s side another time. Mom fostered my love of eclectic music. She got me my first record (could have been Disco Duck) and my first record player; it had flashing lights. I see you giving me the sideways glance. I don’t care. So there!

One of the greatest gifts my Mom gave me was her belief in speaking positivity over my life. “The power of life and death is in the tongue.” She’d say that with such conviction anytime I was down on myself. She wouldn’t allow me to throw a pity party. She still doesn’t. Before positive thinking was a thing my Mom was a strong advocate. I was a hard-headed lass and so it was many decades before any of it resonated. It’s so embedded in my psyche now. Whenever I hop on the ‘whoa is me’ train, I’m at the next stop with some game changing mental chatter, telling myself to depart.

© GLORIA HOOD for gloriousmettle.wordpress.com
Image: © GLORIA HOOD////GLORIOUS METTLE

The reason for this walk down memory lane is that yesterday was my Mom’s birthday. Since the weather sucks I’m giving her a Birthday Snow Day extension. That woman has done so much for me. I could be the wealthiest person in the world and I still wouldn’t be able to repay her for her love, time, encouragement, jokes, stories…She’s amazing and she’s mine. But if you’re nice I might let her visit you for a little bit.

HAPPY BIRTHDAY MOM!!!!

I LOVE YOU!

♥♥♥♥

>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>
////Images © GLORIA HOOD for gloriousmettle.wordpress.com\\\\

>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

YT acting up again…Please do watch the video of Corinne Bailey Rae’s deliciously indulgent version of “Que Sera Sera”. It is EVERYTHING!

14 thoughts on “When I Was Just A Little Girl

  1. She sounds like such a delightful, positive woman. I love that song, btw. (Good Morning. I like a lot of really old stuff.)
    I like Corinne Bailey Rae. Now I’ve gotta see if I’ve heard her perform “Que Sera Sera” before. Running over to YouTube now.

    1. Thank you. I thought the photo wasn’t too embarrassing.

      Mom, she’s a character and ya gotta love her. Our relationship has really come a long way. All in all, I know I lucked out 🙂

      I wondered if anyone would know that song 😉 But then again you have that great tune (Have You Ever Seen a Dream) on your page. I have a soft spot for oldies as well.

      1. Yay! You spotted it. Sometimes I worry if anyone actually pays attention to my *Daily Daydreams* but I know a few of you awesome people do.
        I love that song. Something about music from way back then like 1920s…wow. Sometimes I wonder if I had a former life back then.

      2. Yes of course I saw it! My eye went right to it so the placement was perfect. Matter of fact I was like ‘dang she did what I was gonna do’ lol.
        I love music from back then as well.Wwhen they record a song and keep that delicate scratchy record player sound…mmm it’s grrrrreat.

  2. My mom always said, “You can do anything with your life if you only want it badly enough.”
    Hey, I’m sorry I haven’t been by lately. I’ve just had a very triggering week. I spent the past week working myself up to and actually writing the post where I tell the full story about me and Mr. X. I plan to publish it on Saturday. In the meantime, I’m having to climb out of the hole I’ve flung myself into as a result.
    Keep on writing! I love everything you write.

    1. That’s a good quote your Mom gave you.

      Don’t feel bad about not being around. As you may have read, I’ve been dealing with some things and am recently getting back in the writing/reading flow. I hope whatever you have going on will work itself out soon. Life has a funny way of happening while we’re busy trying to do other things. Take your time getting your bearings. Maybe give yourself a schedule so you don’t try to do too much at one time.

      I look forward to reading your post. I’m happy you enjoy my writing. It’s good to have the feedback 🙂

Watcha Say Now?

