Don’t Sleep On This

Image: GLORIA HOOD for gloriousmettle.wordpress.com

What are your deepest darkest/scariest dreams? Go ahead and think about that. I’ll wait…

How do you feel about acknowledging your true passions to yourself? May seem odd to be afraid to admit something to yourself. But it’s OK. Do you break out in hives at the thought of sharing those ideas with others? What if they laugh at you? Maybe it doesn’t make sense to anyone but you. What if they tell everyone what you plan to do and then (gasp for air) you feel obligated to live up to it?

Are you uncomfortable yet? It’s a natural response. If I got paid for all the times there was an unsavory response when I shared ideas that brought me the utmost delight, I’d be a wealthy woman indeed. Each time I divulge my heart I leave myself open to criticism. Vulnerability is a garment I’m still getting used to. I gotta break it in like a new pair of shoes.

Thing is, I’m not interested in hiding anymore. Not to say I’m gonna have a town hall meeting about what moves me. There is a time and a place and yes sometimes an audience for that. I know I can’t tell errbody everythang. I can start with myself; the safest place I know.

I know the freedom that comes from embracing my dreams. And I long for more of it. People may not get it. I might not always have the support I think I should. I feel like someone takes the air out of my balloon when I get nonchalance over things I’m hyped about. Ya know what though, I can’t let that stop me from reaching for what my heart feels is good for it. I won’t know what is truly possible for me unless I try. I invite you to join me and try fearlessness on for a little while.

Featured and post images © Gloria Hood + Glorious Mettle

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

This post was written in response to the January 2014 Bloggers For Peace Challenge:

What one thought will you focus on this year to bring more peace?

Do yourself a favor, get you some nice juicy PEACE. Your heart will thank you for it. 

Related Articles:

Daydreams In Wonderland gets some Zen

B4Peace Homepage

Kozo & Cheri Asks That You…

11 thoughts on “Don’t Sleep On This

  1. Aww, this is lovely. 😀
    Alicia goes well with it too. Vulnerability can be a beautiful thing. Sometimes you just have to say eff what everyone thinks and just be you. We could all benefit from a little more of that. Very sound advice, m’ dear.

    1. Yes Alicia sings when I cannot say…
      I know that’s right, “Vulnerability can be a beautiful thing”. Indeed I’m excited about reintroducing people to who I am.
      ♥ that you enjoyed the piece

  2. Love this, GM. Love how you wear your vulnerability and break it in like a pair of shoes. Love how you are reaching for what your heart knows is good for it. Love you. {{{Hugs}}} Kozo

  3. Follow your heart, be fearless and fly beyond all that you thought was possible. Your heart knows where to take you and how to make you happy and that’s what counts 🙂

    1. Thank you for the beautiful words of encouragement T ♥
      My heart wants to take me to some interesting places. Sometimes I’m not sure who it thinks I am lol 😉
      However your words certainly give my heels a boost.

Watcha Say Now?

